Redblacks bring former Rider Greg Marshall back to Ottawa as coach

Article content

Greg Marshall is coming back to the city where he made such a huge impact as a football player.

Article content

A CFL source said Marshall will officially be named the Ottawa Redblacks’ defensive line coach Wednesday.

Article content

After being selected (out of Oregon State) in the seventh round of the 1978 NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles, Marshall, a defensive lineman, played all nine years of his CFL career in Ottawa — from 1980-1988 — and was named the league’s Most Outstanding Defensive Player in 1983.

A year ago, he was added to the Wall of Honour at TD Place. 

Marshall’s record of sacks in a season (16.5 in 16 games) was bested two years ago by Redblacks defensive end Lorenzo Mauldin (17 sacks in 18 games).

Greg Marshall is pictured during his playing days with the Ottawa Rough Riders. Photo by Wayne Hiebert /Postmedia

Marshall, who is now 67, became head coach of two Ottawa teams — the Sooners and Bootleggers — then had CFL jobs with Saskatchewan (he was the Roughriders’ head coach for half of the 2011 season), Edmonton, Ottawa (2005 as the defensive line coach/defensive co-ordinator of the Renegades), Winnipeg and Hamilton. 

Article content

After being the defensive co-ordinator at Queen’s (2014-17), he was hired by the University of Toronto as the team’s head coach in 2018. The Blues parted ways with him in November.

The rest of this year’s coaching staff under Redblacks head coach Bob Dyce: Defensive co-ordinator Barron Miles, offensive co-ordinator Tommy Condell, Deion Melvin (linebackers), Alex Suber (defensive backs), Travis Moore (receivers and pass game co-ordinator), Nate Taylor (running backs), Nadia Doucoure (coaches’ assistant), Pat Perles (offensive line) and Cory McDiarmid (special teams).

IN AND OUT: The Redblacks announced several transactions Tuesday. Signed are receivers Dillon Stoner (Oklahoma State) and Garett Maag (North Dakota), defensive linemen Carson Taylor (Northern Arizona) and Curtis Weaver (Boise State), linebacker Davion Taylor (Colorado) and defensive backs Jaquan Amos (Ball State) and Elijah Blades (Buffalo). Released were receivers Floyd Allen and Lonnie Moore, defensive lineman Malcolm Lee and defensive back David Haney. 

Recommended from Editorial

Share this article in your social network